Home > Sac-Jaoquin Section, Sanctioned Schools > Rumor Mill: Is Rocklin High School basketball coach Steve Taylor resigning?

Rumor Mill: Is Rocklin High School basketball coach Steve Taylor resigning?

News Story (4/11/2010): The Sacramento BeeRocklin Coach Steps Down, cites relentless Pace
(Note: End of Sac Bee story mentions reason for Rocklin being placed on probation by CIF)

Rumor: I’ve now heard the entire coaching staff (varsity, JV and freshman) resigned, not just Taylor. Can anyone validate this? If true, what was the reason given?

News Story (4/9/2010)Auburn JournalRocklin’s Taylor resigns as basketball coach

UPDATE (4/9/2010): Word coming in now is Steve Taylor has resigned as coach for Rocklin varsity boys basketball. More to come as information rolls my way.

(4/9/2010) Recent activity on this web site suggests something might be in the works regarding Steve Taylor’s tenure as Rocklin High School’s varsity boys basketball coach.

Was it something a note someone slipped my way on a napkin? An anonymous email or post? Neither. It was something found in this site’s readership reports. Specifically site search terms and pages read.

Over the past week a couple of things have caught my eye.

First, when some arrives on this site as a result of a Yahoo, Bing or Google search, the search terms used to get here are captured and displayed to me as the site administrator. During the past week, I noted quite a few people arrived at the site using search terms containing one or more of the following words or strings:

– Steve Taylor
– Rocklin
– Resigned
– Rockin High School
– CIF sanctions
– recruiting violations

Second, the first story I ever published on this site, Rocklin and Roseville High School recruiting violations, has recently seen a resurgence in activity. The original story was posted on March 2, 2010. One would expect readership of the story to decrease over time, which it had. That was until last week when traffic began to climb again.

Now, I am not in the know as to whether Steve Taylor is going to resign, but if I were a betting man…

In the end, the truth will come out. I may be wrong in my analysis, I may be right. Either way, the data analysis certainly is interesting… even as a conversation piece.

  1. May 31, 2013 at 11:22 am

    My programmer is trying to persuade me to move
    to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because
    of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve
    been using Movable-type on various websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way
    I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. Ron
    October 18, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    Come back

  3. June 4, 2011 at 4:27 am

    I have read this site but I do not want to give any opinion for Mr. Taylor. I would like to know more details before giving personal comments. Coach is very important for all the students. Best coach can make perfect to weak player. Taylor is also best coach and he has provided good service. Students who are interesting to know the importance of coach in high schools can visit this site.

  4. Former Player Under Steve
    March 22, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    There are other rumors about the resignation that take precedent over the violation of CIF sanctions, and they involve serious personal life issues. Considering I’m not 100% positive that these are true, I wont exactly detail what I’ve heard. As a former player that competed under Steve, I will tell you that he’s the most knowledgeable coach I’ve ever played for when it comes down to the X’s and O’s of the game. Beyond this though, the man is selfish, egocentric, and a negative role model for young people. While he demands respect, he does not reciprocate it back to his players or many individuals involved with his team. He is a very inflexible coach that conflicts with differing personalities and backgrounds, and is why he will never be successful coaching beyond the high school ranks. It’s unfortunate too, I loved his parents.

  5. Cheater 2
    May 27, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    I think It’s a complete joke that anyone in their right mind would stand up for Steve Taylor and claim that he is a man of integrity. And as for being one of the most caring coaches perhaps lynn you should have attended one of the Rocklin High’s basketball games so you could witness first hand how red Steve Taylor’s face got when he was screaming and yelling at his players after they made an error. Thank god he finally was forced to resign because of his little recruiting violation.

    • Tina
      February 28, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      This year has been my first experience with Steve Taylor with coaching my son on an AAU basketball league. Never again will my sone play on any team he is coaching. He reminds me of a bully. Cursing at the kids (mine is 13) and nothing positive to say to the kids. Only negative comments when they “screw up”. I paid $345 for what? Abuse in my opinion. He even left my son sitting at school after practice one night ALONE as I was late picking him up. I can see why his wife wants him out of the house most of the time which is what he told us parents when the winter season of basketball began. My son tried out for basketball last year for his team and didnt make it. Come to find out no one made it except for the boys that were on his team from the season before so I see where the cheating comes in. My son will never play on a team he coaches.

  6. Lynn
    April 12, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    cheater :total cheater, has always been. The truth finally comes out because he SUCKS as a basketball coach…but give him credit, he can cheat with the best of them…** Note: Inappropriate comment removed by site administrator **

  7. A journalist
    April 9, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    While the “rumour” is now true that Taylor resigned, there is no real reporting on this web site. It’s still just internet chatter. Even in the e-mail trail published here, there is no real evidence. The only accusations are made by the Roseville coach and hearsay.
    That said, it’s neither clears nor convicts Taylor.
    Just gossip with some substantiation… but not a lot yet.
    Give it time.

    • April 9, 2010 at 11:27 pm

      Thank you for commenting. I won’t comment as to whether or not there’s “real” reporting on this site. I will let readers decide. I agree with your position as far as the Steve Taylor rumor post is concerned, but respectfully disagree on other posts.

      As far as the Sanctions post and hearsay is concerned, I think you missed the point. Hearsay evidence is fully admissible and given standing in the CIFs kangaroo court.

      The accusations by the way are not made by the Roseville coach. They are made by his wife Erin. She is using his email account. Go back and read it. You’ll see.

      You can’t have it both ways when it comes to allowing hearsay as evidence. If CIF says hearsay is good enough to convict then it appears someone may be guilty.

      Right or wrong, that is CIF game playing.

      Give it time is right. PRA requests have already been made.

      Finally, why are you afraid to use your real name? You are a journalist, aren’t you?

  8. cheater
    April 9, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Lynn :I have known Steve Taylor for many years and find him to be one of the most caring coachs I have ever seen. His hard work and integrity speaks for itself. He has done so much for the Rocklin communitee it is hard to believe that anyone would have anything negative to say about him. If he’s leaving I am sure there are bigger and better opportunities for his future.

  9. cheater
    April 9, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    total cheater, has always been. The truth finally comes out because he SUCKS as a basketball coach…but give him credit, he can cheat with the best of them…** Note: Inappropriate comment removed by site administrator **

  10. Lynn
    April 8, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I have known Steve Taylor for many years and find him to be one of the most caring coachs I have ever seen. His hard work and integrity speaks for itself. He has done so much for the Rocklin communitee it is hard to believe that anyone would have anything negative to say about him. If he’s leaving I am sure there are bigger and better opportunities for his future.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

